top of page

Thirteen Reasons Why Summary/Review

Ok so I kinda read the whole thing last night and I'm really tired. But it was a good book I guess. It probably needs more time to sink in speaking that I read the whole thing in like 8 hours.


I really don't have much to say about it. Oh, btw I didn't cry, not even close. Considering the hype around it I definitely thought I would. I was actually hoping I would because I like to read sad books to make me cry. I don't really know why I do it, maybe because I don't really show people or tell people how I feel. Like ever. So if I read a book or watch a sad movie it will make me cry so I don't have to and I'm all cried out. I don't know maybe I'm just weird. Whatever. Haha, so I did end up with kinda an intro. I never purposely have an intro, they just sort of happen.


Here we go!!

Book: Thirteen Reasons Why

Author: Jay Asher

Rating: 4 stars out of 5

I'm sure by now you all know what it's about but I'm going to tell you my summary anyway, because, believe it or not, this is actually one of my favorite parts of these.

Summary:


A box arrives on a doorstep addressed to Clay Jensen.

Two weeks ago Hannah Baker killed herself. Everyone knows that. But do they know why? Because Clay Jensen is about to discover the shocking truth behind her suicide.


He opens the box to find seven cassette tapes, and on those tapes are 13 explanations as to why his crush ended her life. Clay is one of those reasons.


Shocked and confused Clay decides to get to listen to the tapes if only to find out why he is on them, what he hears makes him realize how much actions can directly affect others.


That night he explores the town visiting locations marked on a map someone slipped into his locker a week before. He begins to see the town with new eyes as he follows Hannah’s heartbreaking story.

So just what is o those tapes?


Review:

Ok, so I know that this was a little exaggerated in some parts but as a whole, I could relate. Depression happens, and just because I’m fifteen doesn’t mean I haven’t been there. I have had depression that got so bad that I began entertaining the idea of suicide. Thankfully I have gotten free of those thoughts. But I know many people are struggling and feel alone. Depression is real and it’s nothing to joke about. It is a very serious matter. Sorry, that got really dark. but I was also reminded that my actions affect others and that I always have to be mindful of how people could react. So I think that this book needs to be read to remind us.


Mechanics, here we come.

So this book kinda has two POVs speaking that it was the tapes and then how he reacts or what he is doing. But it wasn’t the standard alternating POV by chapters so that was new and different. In fact, each side of the cassettes were its own chapters, so having Clay interject made the book easier to digest for me. It broke up the serious parts and you got to find out how he felt about what she was saying. I don’t think I’m going to watch the show but that’s something you can’t really put into action. What I mean is you can’t really act out what someone thinks unless you just flat out say it.


This book was a little challenging and I don’t recommend this book to young readers. I think this is for young adults just because of the heave themes of suicide and rape. This was defiantly not a light book. But if you can make it through the tough parts it’s a really good book. I like that Asher took on such a controversial topic. It can almost be considere3ed a classic in the YA community speaking that it was published ten years ago in 2007.

That’s really all I have to say about this book.


- Mei-Lin Rose


Quote:

This time I have two quotes and I think I’m going to put context with the quote, meaning I’m going to put what character said the quote and maybe if it’s important when they say it, why they say it, or what they’re talking about. This will be implemented so you’ll start to understand how it works because right now it doesn’t make any sense to me trying and failing to explain it.


“You don’t know what goes on I anyone’s life but your own. When you mess with one part of a person’s life, you’re messing with their entire life. Everything affects everything.”

- Hannah Baker


“A lot of you cared, just not enough.”

-Hannah Baker

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page