top of page

To All the Boys I've Loved Before Summary/Review

Let me start out by saying that my definition of fall has already started! The Pumpkin Spiced Latte came out on the 28th and I already got one. I worked out with my mom before school and swung by Starbucks afterward! I got a PSL at 6:45 a.m. the day they came out!!!

Now then, I just finished reading the insanely popular book and now Netflix movie “To All the Boys I’ve Loved before”!! I actually didn't know what this book was about at all when I started reading it!! Isn't that CRAZY?!?! I never read the back I just picked it up because I heard good this about it.

I cannot wait to watch it!! LITERALLY, all my friends have seen it already!! Everyone keeps telling me how good the movie is. I had to quickly shout that I haven't seen it yet and that I'm reading the book and I DON'T want spoilers! 😂BUTTTT now I've read the book so I CAN watch it!! Also, the movie doesn't go farther than the first book so I (not having read the others yet) can't potentially accidentally spoil it for myself. YAY!!!!😆😆

Also, let me just say I LIVE for the aesthetics on this cover!!😍😍👌

Okie dokie y'all know how this goes

Book: To All the Boys I've Loved Before

Author: Jenny Han

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Summary:

It's always been, Margot. The oldest, the accomplished, one only one with a boyfriend, and pretty much the mother of the family.

It's never really bothered Lara Jean, but when Margot decided to study abroad in Scotland, it's time for Lara Jean to step up and take responsibility.

Cue hatbox with letters written to all her serious crushes. It is in these letters that she pours out all her pent-up feelings to each of the five boys she's loved. Well, one day these secret letters become not so secret when they somehow get mailed to each boy.

Let's just say, junior year is sure going to be interesting.

Review:

I love how Jenny Han captures that people change and what happens when the family moves. There is an almost mourning-like state and then the family dynamic slowly but surely changes. Each member takes on a different role to cover the missing link. In the book, they learn to move on in everyday life without the presence of Margot.

Han addresses how people change but also delicately portrays the bond between sisters. That it doesn’t matter how angry or bitter you feel towards your sister they are always your sister no matter what. Friends and boyfriends come and go, but family is forever. That just really struck me.

Mechanics:

The writing style was really easy to read. Very understandable and in plain English (I've been reading a lot of British lit lately for school so the easy language of this book was a blessing! 🙏)

There was only one POV this time. I'm on a roll with the single-person POVs!!

I managed to accomplish the first month of my resolution and finish this book at the very tail end of the month!! I cut it a little close tho! 😅

I would almost recommend this book to every age group if it didn't talk about sex. It doesn't dwell upon it, but it does mention it. So, reader discretion advised. All in all, tho definitely worth checking out!

I feel like my words are not making sense this go around so I think I'm gonna cut it here.


- Mei-Lin Rose

Quotes:

I have quite a few this time

"She takes one step toward me and I take one step toward her, and we fall into each other's arms, crying, and the relief I feel is immeasurable. We are sisters, and there's nothing she or I can ever say or do to change that."

"I think I see the difference now, between loving someone from afar and loving someone up close. When you see them up close, you see the real them, but they also get to see the real you."

"Love is scary; it changes; it can go away. That's part of the risk. I don't want to be scared anymore. I want to be brave, like Margot."

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page